Skip to content
April 6, 2010 / red1s

Quick Tip – How to hide the SharePoint 2010 – Revert to Template Status – notification within a Customized SPD edited (Wiki) Page


Apart from the mouthful of a heading Smile with tongue out (wasnt too sure what to call this post without sounding too vague or incorrect)  – If like me you’ve ever had to update SharePoint wiki pages using SharePoint designer and had the following notification come up once you’d done editing your page from SharePoint designer:

clip_image001

You can use the following method to hide the message from visitors.

1. Find the following mark-up in your sites v4.master

<div id=”s4-statusbarcontainer”>

<div id=”pageStatusBar” class=”s4-status-s1″>

</div>

</div>

2. Once located comment this section out

I’d recommend you make a back up o f the v4.master first and from there use the customized version

Word of warning:

I’ve noticed that by clicking on the ‘Revert to Template’ link it sometimes does revert the Wiki page back to its previous state and sometimes does not. Interestingly enough there is no specific reason why it does the successfully perform the required action or does not as I have attempted it with multiple different types of changes and not receiving the same results.  A basic word of warning though would be to make sure you make a back up of your page before editing any SharePoint page out of its ghosted mode (especially if you’ve spent a lot of time on its customization)

Digg This
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: